Incognito mode will automatically turn off after a period of inactivity, or you can also manually turn it off. Alternatively, if you just want to pause watch and search history and retain functionality for Subscriptions and Inbox, the #YouTube app has a separate option in the Settings to do so.
When in Incognito mode, you can only access the Home and Trending tabs within the app, as well as search. Other functionality such as Subscriptions, Inbox, and Library are disabled and show a reminder of your Incognito status.
The Sign Out button on the bottom of the Account page is now replaced with the “Turn on Incognito” option. When the feature is enabled for the first time, a prompt appears confirming that you have gone incognito. Subsequently, you can see the Incognito icon as your avatar icon in the top right corner, and a “You’re incognito” bar at the bottom throughout the app.
Incognito Mode was previously reported to have been on its way to the YouTube application on #Android. This feature disables the watch and search history on the application. Incognito Mode is now rolling out widely for all Android users on the official app version 13.25.56.
With user privacy thankfully coming back into the spotlight these days, many popular apps are building in features that give the user greater control over what is tracked and stored by the app. Popularly referred to as Incognito Mode or Private Browsing, such features attempt to hide online activity from being tracked and have already been baked into apps like Chrome, Firefox, and Gboard.
When you turn off Incognito or become inactive, your activity from this session will be cleared and you’ll return to the account last used. Your activity might still be visible to your employer, school, or internet service provider.